RSS

Hibernation

29 Nov

IMAG0088

After an almost Sabbatical period of blogging lately, this seems the prime time to do some good ol’ fashioned spring cleaning around here.

Why?

My blog has served miscellaneous personal goals up until this point.  Part of the reason it petered out lately is due to a shifting goal that never usefully transpired.  I don’t disown those goals, yet it is beneficial to recognise my life has moved on since then, and it is time to reach for higher goals.

Why now?

I’m thankful for a providential event in recent months that is giving me a whole new outlook on life: I have discovered I am gluten intolerant. Since eating gluten free for over three months now, I am feeling remarkably more energised.

You probably don’t want to know all the details about how I’m dreaming more now, and all that… but suffice to say, there’s more creative juice in my bones now than there has been for a long time.

Why me?

I still can’t resist the wordsmithing urge.  🙂 I feel it benefits my own thought processes to have a directed goal for those attempts, governed by external constraints that keep me accountable.

Why write?

I believe using words to communicate effectively is an important skill to be nourished and practised, not merely as a professional, but as a Christian.  It is not without significance that our Lord is called “the Word” and hence I remain convinced of the central importance of communication in developing our relational selves in the image of God.

So… what’s happened to the old stuff?  (Not that you care!)

It’s all still there!  I’ve re-categorised, and re-tagged it all.  I will be choosing not to highlight significant sections of my previous blogging experience, but I’ve not removed anything from the record.  I believe it continues to have a personal purpose.  (For full disclosure, that purpose involves being a reminder to me of my psychological ups and downs throughout a significant chunk of my life.  I continue to learn from the way my Providences shaped me, and even in the demonstration of much weakness, God has been working all for my good.)

What next?

Ebenezer means “Hitherto hath the Lord helped me.”  Please rejoice with me in His goodness to me.

Pray with me that I can transform this space into a more honourable reflection of His glory in this sinful world.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Tuesday, November 29, 2011 in philosophy

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Hibernation

  1. James

    Wednesday, November 30, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Ooh lovely, good to see some life here Rachel 😀

     
  2. Nex

    Thursday, December 1, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Glad to hear you’re feeling more energized 🙂

     
  3. rach

    Thursday, December 1, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Thanks! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
