RSS

And….. the recluse surfaces again

02 Jul

Yes, I’m still around, and yes once again, I’m having to acknowledge a lack of blog-love.

So, not exactly everything has been going swimmingly… and I do find it kinda undesirable, and just not fun to be blogging when I’ve got struggles going on I don’t want to talk about, and other things are paling into insignificance.  But on that front, hats off to one of my newest friends Rose, for insightful and gracious responses to exactly that: the struggles.

But then again, there has been a great amount of fun interspersed with my “challenges”. Oh, and I’m not just talking the weekend-week divide 😉

So, here goes…

AMAZING : I’m in Colorado!! We have sunshine here… have I mentioned that before!?

UN-FUN: There was a breakin to my appartment where they stole a laptop and paperwork related to my visa.  That’s still painful.

AMAZING : I’ve met my neighbour, and her dogs.  We’re becoming friends (I hope!) 🙂  The dogs might take some work, however my neighbour is really sweet!

UN-FUN: My neighbour got her laptop stolen too… oh, and her change jar.  Yes, really!

AMAZING : I’m discovering how lovable horses can be 🙂  Well, I’ve never tried before, but I was willing to give them a chance!  You won’t believe, Cricket is one amazing horse 😉  But then again, if you read Priscilla’s blog, maybe you will believe!

UN-FUN:  My head became banged hard on the ground… just this once.  That was unfun mostly  because it meant I couldn’t get back onto Cricket 😛

AMAZING: Some of my best friends took me to a Rodeo.  It was special – including getting hailed on.  EVEN MORE AMAZING: another best friend is taking me to another one soon!!  Pikes Peak or Bust, here we come!

UN-FUN: my trendy new cowboy hat *won’t stay put* on my head.  Me needs a bit of string…

AMAZING: Many great people are generous enough to let me share small slices of their life with them, not least the kindhearted at church.  Every cup of cold water is something to be treasured and cause for thankfulness.

UN-FUN: Many dear people are now far away from me, and that does hurt.  Though, new technology provides means of kindness, and the hurts give motivation to use it.

AMAZING : Starbucks do things without coffee in them 🙂  Wow.. they taste nice.  Like chai lattes (a winter favourite) and vanilla or strawberry Frappuccino (quickly becoming a summer favourite – thankyou, Elle!)

UN-FUN: Spiders.  I mean they can actually *kill* you here… it’s not at all irrational to be keen to avoid their company.  Ok, the long-legged-light-footed-skeleton that I found perched on my elbow the other morning wasn’t exactly poisonous… but hey, he wasn’t meant to be there without asking permission!!

AMAZING: My dearest friend Kathy got married yesterday.  Kath, I love you so much and hope for many blessings for you both in the years ahead.

UN-FUN: I couldn’t be there 😥

Coming full circle, I still wonder at the unusual Providence that finds me right where I am now in my funny wee life.  That’s the way it is, and I can only cling dearly to a clear yet crisp vision: seek to glorify God and enjoy Him for ever.

Ni-night

 
6 Comments

Posted by on Friday, July 2, 2010 in selfish

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “And….. the recluse surfaces again

  1. Hannah vP

    Friday, July 2, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    Just a hi from me, you’re often in my thoughts… hope you’re getting on ok, and that the ‘amazing’ outweighs the ‘un-fun’ bits…
    any trips home on the agenda?
    take care,
    x

     
  2. Sympodius

    Saturday, July 3, 2010 at 2:18 am

    Sorry to hear about the break in. But it’s admirable that you can come up with a good thing for each bad one. Recently I’ve been trying to ‘ignore’ my life and not thinking too much about how much good/bad there is in it. Almost as if my life was a game and I’m just a character being controlled. That way it doesn’t really matter what happens to me, my real life will still be waiting for me when I’m done. Hopefully that’s true, but it’s not a lifestyle I would recommend 🙂

     
  3. James

    Saturday, July 3, 2010 at 3:26 am

    I don’t always comment, but I like your blog posts. You’re totally turning american though 😉

     
  4. rach

    Saturday, July 3, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Awwww…. ta!

    But…. wh-wh-wh….at!!! I don’t think so! I thought you said on the phone my accent was just fine 😉

     
  5. rach

    Saturday, July 3, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Nex – I never even said thanks for the comment, I was too busy getting your news… sorry and thankyou!

    There are times lately when my life has felt a dream – but I don’t think I prefer that state. But yes, I am feeling very thankful for all the good things in my life here despite some troubles, so I’m still enjoying myself.

     
  6. rach

    Saturday, July 3, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Thanks so much Hannah! (Sorry your comment didn’t trigger, so I only just found it.)

    Email follow-up coming 🙂 I started writing too much…

     

Leave a Reply

 
