RSS

Busy busy busy

01 May

Yes, slightly embarrassed to admit it, but I’m still in this hole 🙂

Colorado is treating me amazingly kindly, and I’m appreciating that… I just always underestimate just how much life-stuff there is to take time+energy out of my day.  But what’s new about that?!

Well, here’s some highlights from the week:

  • Prayer group – such a relief to break up the week a little
  • Dining table – from American furniture warehouse.   Exceedingly chuffed that it turned out “medium oak” and not pine like the showroom model, and relieved I didn’t buy the hideous pine chairs to match.
  • Went to “What I wanted to say” with Elle, it was put on by her school and it was done by some of her friends.
  • Last day working for my current company.  All new and pretty next Monday – we’re even supposed to dress up!
  • and changes, changes and yet more garnished changes with relish…

The changes do range from very major to trivial, but when you’re already overwhelmed even the little ones keep compounding on top.

It is actually a relief to be doing some of the same things two months in a row now… it is no where near as time-consuming paying your utilities when the online account and credit card are all set up (with valid SSN details) instead of the phonecalls and websearches and confusion and “profile setup” that it calls for first time round.

Then there is all the other financial matters:

  • internet,
  • groceries,
  • cell phone contract,
  • budgeting in a foreign currency,
  • health insurance (just figured out a doctors appt + prescription in time to start all over again with the new company).
  • 401K – checking it exists… oh, and then a rollover since I’m changing company, and..
  • I need, not one but two new IRA bank accounts to get it rolled over into, to take proper account of the tax status of the money.

And the list goes on….

I even hoovered for the first time today!  Yeah I know I’ve been in this place a little while now, but it wasn’t *that* dirty… in fact, when I moved in, it was a little tooo clean! 😛

I still long for the days when I can once again enjoy the blogosphere… and sorry its not *quite* yet 🙂

~x~

 
6 Comments

Posted by on Saturday, May 1, 2010 in selfish

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Busy busy busy

  1. quact

    Saturday, May 1, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    ({)

     
  2. Sympodius

    Sunday, May 2, 2010 at 1:35 am

    New company?

     
  3. cath

    Monday, May 3, 2010 at 2:37 am

    This hole? I thought you liked Colorado!

     
  4. Malcolm

    Monday, May 3, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Dress up? They have a dress code? Looks like I got out just in time.

     
  5. rach

    Monday, May 3, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Nex: Yup, my division got sold off – I heard that when I’d just been in the country hardly two weeks… hum ho, that was a surprise but I’m hoping it will work out – can’t believe I didn’t tell you that, sorry 🙂

    Cath: haha, trust you!! have you bought tickets yet? 😉 go on, you know you want to!

    Malcolm: *they* didn’t ask us to dress up… it was our own dear management wanting to impress 😛 But I’m afraid you’ll not get the free jumper by leaving us (well, “sweater” as it is here)… you’ve *totally* missed out!! (Mine didn’t fit, but that’s not the point.)

     
  6. rach

    Monday, May 3, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    J: (}) gulp, you’ll be complaining next I forgot about you 😉 love you lots little bro!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
