RSS

Driving

26 Feb

Yup, I worked out what car I’m driving. I made sure no one was watching when I walked round the back to read all the metal tags.

The other cars get out my way. I wonder why 😀 I think my lane positioning is getting better, and they’re big lanes so I got a bit of lee-way… but I have this impression I may have flashed danger a mile off when I first got into that car 😉

It is a red car, that must be why! It was pretty shiny when I got it, I felt waaay not posh enough to step inside… In case you are wondering by now, it is a Pontiac G6. Very nice!

Someone explained to me which pedal was which. I can’t believe how much easier it is to not have a gear/clutch to distract from what is going on outside the car. It is a big help right now for concentration-purposes, like when I’m counting the number of lanes to work out which one to turn into on a left turn.

After a few weeks now, the other cars are starting to drive past me normally. There was only one lady I totally wound up cos she never changed lane at the right time, that was the day I found out I was getting sold (but that’s another story!).

She could have changed lanes on time, only she was speeding and trying to slip in ahead of me before the motorway exit. If it wasn’t for my rather emotionally-stressed situation, I’d be even more completely definite it was her own fault! And at least it wasn’t dangerous, it just meant she had to drive in a big loop to get back on the highway. I laugh now when I remember her face 😀 that’ll teach her to speed!

And I can park now, almost… usually by the third attempt.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Friday, February 26, 2010 in selfish

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Driving

  1. Esty

    Saturday, March 6, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Parking took me a while to muster as well…I find I’m actually best reversing into a space rather than going in head-long which always leaves me squint!

     
  2. Esty

    Saturday, March 6, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    and btw how many doors does your Pontiac G6 have? It looks very swanky and executive I think is the word and in bright red…:o I’m getting a bit green 🙂

     
  3. rach

    Monday, March 8, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Well, I thought I had it all working, maybe it wasn’t my strongest point I’ll admit, but it wasn’t like I actually had any trouble usually.

    That was before it got a whole lot trickier:
    1. different sized cars (by a lot!) many bigger than uk, and many variations between biggest and smallest
    2. randomly massive scary trucks that intimidate you as you get too close
    3. Snow covering the lines up 😛 (that gave me a good excuse for a week!)
    4. Drivers seat on the other side of the car, and being positioned on the opposite side of the road from where I’d used to “measure from”
    5. Diagonal spaces – lots of them round here, mostly easier actually, except that I just discovered… its actually ILLEGAL to just drive straight through them (to avoid the reversing bit, and give you extra wiggle-space)

    Ps: how’s your squint doing 😉 xxx 😛 xxx

     
  4. rach

    Monday, March 8, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    4 doors and a boot… yes it is a nice car but I’ll have to give it back at some point…. :-S then you can be un-jealous!

    Really hope I manage to buy my own one ok… I want a 4wd cos of the snow lots of people here have them for safety… oh well, have to wait and see! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
