RSS

different dinner

11 May

Spur-of-the-moment a friend and I went out for tea recently, and it fair put a smile on my face! 🙂 It has certainly got to go down in the annuls as the strangest meal I’ve ever eaten:

Starter: 2 haddock and a chip mountain

We drove out to Burnt Island and once we had caught a glimpse of the sea, the cravings for fish+chips followed suit.

The portions were definitely double-sized… the girl gave me a funny look when I tried explaining to her we actually we wanted our portions in separate packages. So I shut up and enjoyed both fish and (honest!)most of the chips .

~~~

Light entertainment of sea-gull feeding in the intermission.

~~~

Main: strawberry haribo – kids in a happy world!

Our cream soda came in an old-fashioned glass bottle with the message on the side “30p if you return me”. I dared my friend to ask for her money. She did, and was refused but more-than-compensated with sweets instead!

~~~

Wandered down the high street in the rain, getting our window shopping done.

~~~

Pudding: Orange sorbet in an exclusive Romany dining area.

One of our tasks for the evening was to decide on a suitable venue for a return-visit with an esteemed mutual friend. There was a cute-and-tidy little restaurant at the far end that looked like the poshest place in town… that would do, we decided.

Then my side of the dare came out… I was to go in and ask if it was ok for us to just have pudding there-and-then. We were on a budget, but the orange sorbet was just too tempting… 😛

So that’s what we did! The chap was very obliging and kind, and it was pretty delicious.

A highly recommendable excursion! I give it: 5 stars and a cupful of sand.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Monday, May 11, 2009 in stewardship

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “different dinner

  1. quact

    Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Nice post deary 😀

    Sounds jolly nice! In glasgow you can still get 20 or 30p for Barr glass bottles. Irn Bru, etc.

    Best fatten up on our good food here eh 😉

     
  2. rach

    Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Ah, but do you get cream soda!? That’s the vital question 😉

    Lol, me… fatten up?? huh!

    Though I’m going to have to start asking for 1/4 portions… *forced grin* 😀 I’m not sure I’ll appreciate that! Hehe

    Love,
    Rach

     
  3. hats2

    Monday, May 18, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    But do you get money back on your cream sodas in Colorado Springs? that is the big question… 🙂

     
  4. rach

    Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    A big question indeed 😛
    Rx

     

Leave a Reply

 
