RSS

big things on the beach

08 Aug

The ice cream

Today our team took an afternoon on the beach.   (Sorry, forgot the camera… but smileygeekgirl has them plenty good enough 🙂 Hope you don’t mind me borrowing…?)

It was quite a treat to be surprised by the suns presence and no rain, so we all cheerfully put smiles on our faces as we tramped up-and-down up-and-around-and-down the streets, invading the privacy of gardens all and sundry along the way.  (Not just the artists, mind you… smelling the rosemary and scrutinising the thistles too!)

Embarrassingly enough, I actually found myself generally agreeing with our team sceptic as to the artwork… not that I gave him the satisfaction of knowing that!  I suppose that makes me “uncultured” but in the light of recent exposure, that’s probably a compliment. *hides from our French connection*

Just when I was about to give up in despair at this “contemporary art”, we found one I could concede as my favourite.

Quite refreshing. The connection with the sea gave cheerful connotations of summer holidays at the beach… while being right beside a beach made it harmonise with the surroundings in a simple yet enjoyable manner.

It was colourful without being too taxing on the eyes. The orange-and-white fitted the theme, and the pale blue background gave a contrast while fittingly maintaining its humble role as a backdrop.

No bold statements, just simple, straightforward fun.  Pleasant indeed, and all the more for its scarcity.

Squeakie was disappointed I hadn’t taken him along: he could have eaten the birdfood-containing-artwork.  And he’d certainly have qualified for the job of protecting me from the various little beasties I met.

Now once I can just catch that wee squeakie, I can go to bed.  All the fresh air today is making me yawn.

Cheap-squeak; goodnight.  😉

Ps: Hehe, amusing error message I received: “Hold your clicks a moment please…Flickr has the hiccups.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Friday, August 8, 2008 in selfish

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
