RSS

What a character-limiting day!

08 May

Anne of Green Gables once reflected:

I’m not a bit changed–not really. I’m only just pruned down and branched out. The real ME–back here–is just the same.

That is most certainly not how I feel right now.

I feel like I’ve been busy learning how to be not-me. I’ve done this and that and the next thing, but when I stand back and look I feel as if I’ve not done anything. Well, nothing that Me would do. And everything that Me doesn’t do.

Or maybe its just that I’m not overly keen on the pruning process. Well, it sounds painful for starters! And it takes bits of you away from you. Which is ok, provided the right “bad bits” get taken away.

But actually, I think pruning was last week… this week is branching out… and currently I’m a wilderness…

Instead of being useful, knuckling down and getting on with fixing the worlds problems, I’ve allowed myself to stop. Too busy getting distracted … and then distracted from my distractions and then needing a break from it all cos there was too much thoughts making my head space all cluttered.

And all along, there was that slice of outer-Motholoway that needed their earth-split all sewn up, and the children in Fricania needed a new supply of loving motherness.

Ah well, as Anne also put it:

Tomorrow is always new with no mistakes in it… yet

Ps: Hehe, I have this feeling I’m going to be laughed at!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on Thursday, May 8, 2008 in selfish

 

Tags:

5 responses to “What a character-limiting day!

  1. cath

    Friday, May 9, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Character limiting – you mean you no longer do #%@*”$ ?

     
  2. quact

    Friday, May 9, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    yer definitely changed, ya actually posted soonish after another post πŸ˜›
    ({)

    btw, u got that ‘possible related posts’ thingy at the bottom!

     
  3. cath

    Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Why is my comment not showing up? (Or is it?!)

    I wanted to ask how your character limited life is going, now that you’re alphanumeric only?

     
  4. rach

    Tuesday, May 13, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Sorry, Cath! I have no idea why you weren’t considered priveledged and important enough to be way off Akismets radar… but I have shown my approval of you now!

    Erm, its curious, I guess… but I’m trying not to let that stop me πŸ˜› When my priorities are all in order, it all seems totally unconcerning.

    It is just as I’ve been getting tied up in the details that I’ve had a lot of quick decisons to make and understand the outcomes of. I think I just need more practice at relaxing afterwards πŸ˜‰

    Hopefully the light at the end of your tunnel is getting brighter?

     
  5. cath

    Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Tunnel? You mean my thesis? Actually I prefer to think of it as a big, black, bottomless pit of despair.

    (Joke)

    (sort of)

     

Leave a Reply

 
