RSS

“the rugged and untamed beauties of the peaks”

25 Jan

P1010091

What is there to say, really?

When one of my friends asked, “so, is that the most frightening thing you’ve ever done”, I had to blinkingly reply “Yes, probably”.

I’ve been in denial since Saturday. Hence losing my relish for the little intricacies of the story.

You see, I’m not convinced anyone was particularly impressed when I ‘fessed up – while sitting splat on some icey ridge – to how I got scared walking the pavement to work some slippery days.

Nevertheless, I have to thank my new friend M for his motivational patience. And a respectful nod to a Chinese friend too. It was them who persuaded me the summit was still attainable… one cautious step after another.

By then I had long lost caring about lactic acid, wind, the progressively healthy appetite; breaking through the snow-crust to my knees. I wasn’t even taking pictures any more.

Just a pity the summit was shrouded in mist. But so amazingly worth it, for all that!

Tramping back through the snow-clumped grass was curiously relaxing. Then the cuppa tea with us all round that open fireplace was some cosy reverie. (I don’t think I nodded off…)

By 8:30, there was very sleepiness, but with contentment.

[On reflection, I have experienced one event more terrifying. Maybe one day I’ll tell you that story… 😉 ]

Until then… any volunteers to join our next walk? 😛

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Friday, January 25, 2008 in selfish

 

Tags:

4 responses to ““the rugged and untamed beauties of the peaks”

  1. quact

    Friday, January 25, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Graduation Ceremony? naah, couldnt be with ur darling siblings great support 😀

    Btw, ma blogroll thing disappeared and suchlike 😦

     
  2. saskia

    Friday, January 25, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Where did you go walking? It looks as if it would have been fun……….unless there was wind as well…………

    Saskia x

     
  3. rach

    Friday, January 25, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Ah yeah, good point :-$

    Forgot to mention in the post, it was Ben Lomond 😛

    There was wind – but not so as I was actually cold. (Well wrapped up, etc 😉 )

     

Leave a Reply

 
