RSS

laptop: to take or not to take

02 Jan

Going on holiday, there’s always the tantalizing decision w.r.t. the laptop. One of my friends summarised it quite well:

…I always end up taking it! Regret it when I’m struggling with my luggage and then really glad when I have it at home.

But what’s the official verdict? Should we allow/force ourselves to be offline for a week, with the inspiring freedom that gives, or are there just too many “justifiable commitments” and benefits for such a drastic course of action? 😛

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Wednesday, January 2, 2008 in selfish

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “laptop: to take or not to take

  1. Stephen S.

    Thursday, January 3, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Leave it. What’s so important that can’t be left behind for a while? I actively enjoy *not* checking stuff 😉

     
  2. rach

    Saturday, January 5, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    What!? And you call yourself a geek? 😉

    Well, its not *just* checking stuff… 😛 there’s always those photos you want to upload, and those blog posts you want to write…. *dreams on*

    And also, its always sooo much more urgent when you don’t actually have your laptop with you.

    [/cant believe she’s explaining this to you] – quit winding me up! 😛

     
  3. Stephen S.

    Monday, January 7, 2008 at 12:52 am

    I understand… but I find that the benefit in deserting the computer outweighs the benefit of having one around at all times 😉

     
  4. rach

    Monday, January 7, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    True, true…

    But, remember, I was also spending 10days in an enclosed space with close family members.

    Sometimes you need some sanity-maintaining tactics 😛

    I’m sure my family is also relieved when I remain sane 😉 so everyones a winner, really!

     

Leave a Reply

 
