RSS

changed blogging habits

29 Dec

I am a changed¹ blogger.

My writing style just isn’t what it used to be. It seems to be related to my attitude-shift towards greater efficiency with words. Probably an evidence of this is my renewed interest in poetry: one of my favourite parts was squeezing every single word dry.

Looking back, there was a tendency in academia to reward a multiplicity of words – so long as you said something with them, you got away with having as many as you liked, whereas a short-but-ingenious attempt was unlikely to get the credit it deserved. Survival strategy therefore involved one beady eye on the word-counter.

So, to blogging… I’ve got good at havering over every single last related tangent of a discussion, but even I no longer relish it like I used to. I never consciously changed my style to fit my new readership at work, but I can see my style becoming more streamlined as I become increasingly trained as a corporate cog.

I guess this is a good thing.

There’s kindof only a slight nostalgic twinge looking back at my old favourite “scrollable” posts”.

At least… I was *aiming* to be shorter! :-O *looks with dismay at the scrollbar*

¹ok, ok… Before you ask, this isn’t some feeble attempt at an excuse for my laxness recently – ‘cos there isn’t one. I’m just rubbish! (its what I do best 😀 )

 
1 Comment

Posted by on Saturday, December 29, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

One response to “changed blogging habits

  1. Peter Reynolds

    Monday, December 31, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    Interesting – I managed to get a mark in the 70s for my end-of-year project, despite having only submitted 3000 words out of a requested 4000. So maybe not all academics think that quantity is everything. And yes, that means that I now get a degree 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
