RSS

Why set an alarm clock?

08 Nov

Ok, I’m one of these people who just would never ever remember to open her eyes in the morning if it wasn’t for her trustily annoying rude awakening.

So, an alarm clock is pretty much an essential item of any finitely-expandable-inventory. However, with the advent of those things they call mobile phones, I got one with this “alarm clock” feature. At first I thought it was crazy – whyever should you need 4 different alarms set at once!?

But then I cottoned onto the idea of using the alarms as reminders for my daily life. (Yes, I am slow!) I set alarms to:

  1. remind me when an ebay auction ended
  2. time how long my camera batteries had been on the charger
  3. …. plenty other equally mundane and trivial matters…

But just yesterday I have launched forth into new alarming territory: I decided to set an alarm to tell myself to go to bed.

You see, I always have these grand ideas of “I’ll go to bed at time X, then if my (morning) alarm is set at time Y and |X-Y|mod24~=8 then all is rosy”. And seeing I mostly fall asleep pretty quick, this kinda works.

Or it would, if only I could persuade myself to go to bed at the right time

You see, there’s just sooo much *life* to get done before bedtime! It sometimes seems like the daftest idea in the world to head off to be unconscious just when you’re getting into the swing of things!!

Why do I have to be a late-night owl!? I suppose its my Daddy’s-genes fault…

By the time I’ve finished doing all the fun things, its usually already past Time X, and then there’s still the mad prepare-for-tomorrow rush, and actually getting ready for bed. By that time, I’m so late compared to plans, that it hardly seems worth aiming for anything in particular any more, and I drift into dreamworld while still completing the house-tidy-process.

So, now I’m setting the alarm for 10:30. That gives me half an hour to get ready for bed… and if I’m quick, that still means potentially 27mins of book-reading while snuggled up in my duvet.

Thankyou to the inventor of the alarm clock 😛

 
11 Comments

Posted by on Thursday, November 8, 2007 in philosophy

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Why set an alarm clock?

  1. Melon Zest

    Friday, November 9, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    ““I’ll go to bed at time X, then if my (morning) alarm is set at time Y and |X-Y|mod24~=8”

    i think you can correctly do |X-Y| without the mod 24 🙂

    Also, if you wanted to be “extra correct”, and take account of slept time if you’ve exceeded 24 hrs, you could….

    nah, it’s too complicated 😉

     
  2. quact

    Friday, November 9, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    Hello 🙂
    Eating a steam pud i made, i need a camera so i can take photos of all ma tasty creations *wink*wink* *nudge*nudge* 😀

    how ya getting on? through in gla soon?

    james

     
  3. SPQ

    Saturday, November 10, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I have a phobia of going to bed at times. Too many visions of demons in my sleep. So your spaceship is minor! There’s always coffee in the mornings 😀

     
  4. Melon Zest

    Monday, November 12, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    “Too many visions of demons in my sleep”

    Believe it or not, eating strong cheese before going to bed can induce such unfavourable effects 😛

     
  5. Melon Zest

    Monday, November 12, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    For a good night’s sleep, try a moderately warm glass of milk ( popular in Japan) with half a teaspoonfull of black Nigella seeds (they’re really strong!).
    Come to think about this, this is a remedy for Insomia, but i’m not too sure about the dreams 🙂

     
  6. Esther

    Friday, November 16, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    well getting wakened up by your mother with a lovely cup of tea certainly is a lovely way to start the morning!!

    That’s a disadvantage of moving out so soon rachie!!you have to start taking care of yourself. Me personally I hate alarm clocks, they’re so annoying and with them you don’t wake up naturally!!

    xxx

     
  7. rach

    Tuesday, November 20, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Very true! And now I remember, Mum was quite good at telling me to go to bed too.

    Not that that was my favourite thing, really 😉

    And I have *the most annoying* alarm clock ever – its Dad’s old one from when he was a teenager – ‘cos its the only one annoying enough that I can’t sleep through!

    Hehe, I’m not a morning person!

    When are you coming to visit to give me my cuppa in bed 😉 btw! You still coming for your long weekend? You better be 😀

    Love you, xx

     
  8. berenike

    Thursday, November 22, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Ah cunning … I have never yet mastered the art of going to bed, though one revered lecturer and cleric used to tell us that “the spiritual life begins and ends in bed”, meaning – getting up and going to bed promptly. Must try this.

    (random comment from a reader of ninetysixandten)

     
  9. rach

    Thursday, November 22, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Very true.

    Tho’ I really amen’t yet very keen on the idea, I am realising more and more the role being disciplined has in the Christian life. I.e. If we don’t deliberately make time for God, the devil will keep us busy and even busier in this current go-go society so we never *get* time for God. Starvation!

    Responsible sleeping habits are certainly an indication of this. I suppose this idea was just trying one small step – eliminating one of the excuses I’m often using to myself :-$

    (random reader of your frequent comments on ninetysixandten 😛 )

     
  10. berenike

    Thursday, December 6, 2007 at 8:09 am

    I may have found another method – in my new parish there is (?are) Lauds at 5:30 every weekday morning throughout advent – it’s one of my advent things this year – the thought of having to get up at five sends me scuttling to bed.

    Still, I have found over years of experimentation that having a concrete and pleasing plan for the hour or two after waking a)helps in getting one out of bed in the morning (this includes things like not havign to think abotu what to wear, so putting out clothes the night before) and b)because one is keen and set on getting up at godly hour, one is much more purposeful about going to bed in order not to sleep in or be sleepy.

    (oh dear, do I talk too much on that blog?)

     
  11. SPQ

    Sunday, December 9, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    I find the mornings are the only time when I’m sane so I’m up no later than 6.30! It’s the evenings that drive me bonkers. Life is so pointless in the evenings!

     

Leave a Reply

 
