Sometimes, just out of the blue, an email arrives:
I have deleted all local files and directories which aren’t [version controlled]¹.
[Identity hidden to protect the not-so-innocent]
I’m sure that, just like me, you all *love* getting emails like this! Thankfully, there was nothing *too valuable* lost on this particular occasion (that I’ve discovered yet!)… but sometimes a little protocol-agreement can go a long way!
What I see here is the “delete-inform” protocol: irreversibly remove the files, then tell people you’ve done so 🙂 Personally, I think I’d even prefer the “delete” protocol to the “delete-inform” protocol ‘cos at least then what I don’t know can’t bother me!
But by far my favourite has to be the “inform-delete” protocol (assuming a sufficient and communicated time-delay between the two events). To balance things up a bit, I had another email today doing precisely that – informing of an irreversible delete of potentially usable material, informing *what* the material was(!), informing of when this would happen, informing of the method of avoiding a delete should it be neccessary…
Maybe on a spreadsheet this doesn’t “add value” 😛 It’s just the same two events that are happening, after all!
But – somewhat selfishly of course 😉 – I think I shall continue to insist on the adoption of my own preferred protocol. 🙂
¹[Version controlling keeps a selection of saved-off copies of files, so if you eg delete a paragraph by accident, and save it, you could still go back to a previous version. Similarly, if you delete the file.]