RSS

reassuring emails

24 Oct

Sometimes, just out of the blue, an email arrives:

Hi Rachel,

I have deleted all local files and directories which aren’t [version controlled]ยน.

Cheers,

[Identity hidden to protect the not-so-innocent]

I’m sure that, just like me, you all *love* getting emails like this! Thankfully, there was nothing *too valuable* lost on this particular occasion (that I’ve discovered yet!)… but sometimes a little protocol-agreement can go a long way!

What I see here is the “delete-inform” protocol: irreversibly remove the files, then tell people you’ve done so ๐Ÿ™‚ Personally, I think I’d even prefer the “delete” protocol to the “delete-inform” protocol ‘cos at least then what I don’t know can’t bother me!

But by far my favourite has to be the “inform-delete” protocol (assuming a sufficient and communicated time-delay between the two events). To balance things up a bit, I had another email today doing precisely that – informing of an irreversible delete of potentially usable material, informing *what* the material was(!), informing of when this would happen, informing of the method of avoiding a delete should it be neccessary…

Maybe on a spreadsheet this doesn’t “add value” ๐Ÿ˜› It’s just the same two events that are happening, after all!

But – somewhat selfishly of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ – I think I shall continue to insist on the adoption of my own preferred protocol. ๐Ÿ™‚

ยน[Version controlling keeps a selection of saved-off copies of files, so if you eg delete a paragraph by accident, and save it, you could still go back to a previous version. Similarly, if you delete the file.]

 
1 Comment

Posted by on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

One response to “reassuring emails

  1. quact

    Wednesday, October 24, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    heh ๐Ÿ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
