RSS

Loving like Peter

07 Aug

While reading recently, my Mum came across this paragraph which she couldn’t resist reading to me. And then I thought it was neat enough to email on to a friend, and then I read the whole article and thought it was all pretty good.

So I just thought I’d volunteer a recommendation for it: [Here, speaking of Simon Peter, and his sin.]

How did the Lord graciously reinstate this apostle? That he does so is a marvel of grace that a man who ignored the warnings and failed to watch and pray, who denied his Lord with such vehemence, should be restored and reemployed with a new commission. We all know the question that Jesus raised with Peter. “Simon, son of Jonas, do you love me?” It was not, “Peter, did you know what you did? Peter, are you sorry for what you did? Peter, are there more tears you can squeeze out of that stony heart of yours? Peter, do you know how much you’ve hurt me after I’d been so good to you? Peter, will you promise you’ll never deny me again?” No, it was none of those questions because any one of them would have plunged fragile Peter into another bout of bitter weeping. Who knows if we have repented enough, wept enough, have enough faith never to fall into that sin again?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on Tuesday, August 7, 2007 in devotional

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Loving like Peter

  1. dinsan

    Tuesday, August 14, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    I think the single question “Simon, son of Jonas, do you love me?” includes everything

    If you loved me this much….. how much will it hurt… will u deny me again …

     
  2. rach

    Tuesday, August 14, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    True, it says a lot.

    Though I would argue that the aspect of “forgiveness” is not made explicit in that question. And it is the forgiveness that is the greatest love demonstrated here.

    It is the response “feed my sheep” and “feed my lambs” that leaves no room for doubt as to Jesus’ intention as to His unchanged and unchanging love for Peter. Despite how much Peter’s denial was hurtful, Jesus love for him was great enough that He was willing to forgive.

    I wondered about my title “loving like Peter”, because I feel that’s what I’m like – not perfect, not constant, not great or powerful, but nevertheless wanting to be faithful. Yet, the real love that I would like to strive for, is the love that Jesus displayed towards Peter. That love is certainly lovely!

     

Leave a Reply

 
