RSS

doing homework on the train

03 Aug

Blogging on the train is strangely unsettling.

  • Firstly, there is the concept of un-connectedness. The batch processing of reading stuff out of my feeds, and making all those pretty little .txt’s for my replies. There’s not the same feeling of an ongoing conversation.
  • Secondly, is the noise… the continual humming of moving stuff. The fields whizzing by; dilapitated buildings. I feel I should be watching that instead, and if only the clouds draped on top weren’t so grey, I probably would be.
  • Thirdly is the deadline factor: the battery-clock is ticking, and any thoughts I have must be jumbled out as fast as possible before the sudden whizz-bang-fizzle.
  • Fourthly is the anti-social feel of the whole thing. Here I am sitting next to a total stranger while he reads a book in some foreign language and I tippety-tap away, both in our own wee worlds miles away, though we are physically sitting within easy conversational distance.

The guy across the corridor laughed when he saw me take out my laptop. I wanted to ask why, but I was too shy. He didn’t volunteer an explanation either.

…31minutes remaining.

I just aint “in the flow”…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on Friday, August 3, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “doing homework on the train

  1. Grant

    Friday, August 3, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    Maybe he was laughing at the “Will blog for Kit-Kats” sticker on the lid of your laptop? 😉

     
  2. cath

    Friday, August 3, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Try and get yourself on a Virgin train on the way back, they have power sockets all over the place! I had an incredibly productive train journey from Aberdeen to Edinburgh once, wrote screeds!

    The suggestion that this was primarily due to the lack of an internet connection is of course wholly unfounded and should be instantly banished from mind 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
