RSS

seeing the sights of sighthill

31 Jul

Recently my Mum and I took a tour round Sighthill Industrial Estate.

Ok, we didn’t plan on taking a tour… but it kindof worked out like that.

First we just picked a road at random. That didn’t work out, exactly… You see, we found ourselves wonderfully in the right place, just frustratingly about 10m to the left of where we wanted to be, with no visible access possibilities.

Map-reading was the next line of attack. It was wonderfully reassuring to find the name of the road labelled on the map. It was not so reassuring to find the name of the road on more than one road, perpendicular to one another.

Ok, so we did manage to find ToppsTiles after all, after a fair bit of random guesswork and a few elimination rounds… and all we came for was one tiny stick of metal with an arrow-head on the end. My dear Mum looked at me with a blank look on her face? “Can we not just get a normal size?” I looked at the floor, and knowledgeably tried to say “Yeah, 6mm sounds about right.” all the while thinking “If we make it out of this jungle alive, I won’t be coming back!”

I would have been outta there as fast as the wheels could carry us, but then my Mum had to go and spot Screwfix. “Oh, we must go in there.” “Uh, yeah whatever, we must really.”

I think I looked like a bit of an idiot next to all these builder-types who knew their way around the catalogue. It all looked a bit samey-samey to me. Well, a screw is a screw is a screw, isn’t it!?

Eventually I had to succumb to swallowing my pride and walked over to the young chap. The conveniently prop-ful rusty screw out my floor came along as company.

“Um, I want one like this, pretty please…”

Not exactly the highest point of my career, I must admit!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Tuesday, July 31, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

4 responses to “seeing the sights of sighthill

  1. Grant

    Tuesday, July 31, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Yes, it is a bit of a maze round there. Still, now that you’ve found Topps Tiles that means you also know where “Time Twisters” is – the Egyptian-themed soft-play paradise!

     
  2. Melon Zest

    Monday, August 6, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    I can’t believe you struggled to find Topps Tiles. It’s the giant monstrosity of a ware house (not far away from Burton’s biscuit factory!)
    anyway, the feminine map-reading skill is not new to controversy ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I actually saw a nice couple of deer there when i was driving one day… no idea where they came from, or where they disappeared to afterwards!

     
  3. Grant

    Monday, August 6, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Ah, but that’s the thing about Topps/Burtons. You can see the biscuity towers from just about anywhere on the estate but actually getting through the maze takes a bit of doing if you’ve never been there before.

     
  4. Melon Zest

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Tip to find Burton’s biscuit factory if you get lost in the estate:
    Just follow your nose ๐Ÿ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
