RSS

Eureka!

25 Jul

I have discovered that the best possible way of disposing of leek soup is to eat it.

Well, you can’t just dump it in the bin, or all the watery juicy bits will roll out to meet your ankles sometime when they’re all cold and growing. Ok, my new binbag doesn’t have holes in it… yet. But I’m sure I can meet that challenge!

My ubergenerous colleagues have made sure to fully impress on my mind not to throw anything down the sink. So I’m a good little girl, and try not to. In fact I’ve even bought one of those horrid wee grill things to sit over the plug-hole. It is designed to stop anything bigger than a mustard seed, when in fact it is small enough to capture every 5th molecule of water too, but that’s another story.

But then there’s leek bits… they’re quite big enough to be sufficiently caught by my grill-piece, but they’re too squishy to sit there neatly and patiently. About 4 pieces will quite adequately clog up the whole surface area with slime, meaning that I am left with a stagnant pool of water in my sink. With grease blobs on top.

Yes, eating it is just so much less hassle!

[That’ll teach me to be so busy blogging that I let my soup go cold 😦 I tried to convince myself it was almost even still mildly yummy, but I think I was lying.]

 
8 Comments

Posted by on Wednesday, July 25, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Eureka!

  1. Jay

    Thursday, July 26, 2007 at 12:06 am

    If you had a microwave you could just zap it and it would be all lovely and warm again 😉 😛

     
  2. rach

    Thursday, July 26, 2007 at 6:41 am

    True…!

    But I don’t think I need extra excuses to be allowing it to go cold in the first place. 😉

     
  3. Grant

    Thursday, July 26, 2007 at 10:05 am

    Just so long as that’s the only kind of “leek” near your sink – I still have mild paranoia about my plumbing job. You have been checking for drips, haven’t you? 😉

     
  4. rach

    Thursday, July 26, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Uuuurm…

    😛

     
  5. MJ

    Thursday, July 26, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    I hope that wasn’t MY leek soup you were wasting there???

     
  6. rach

    Friday, July 27, 2007 at 12:32 am

    Indeed not 😉 I’ve made a couple of batches now since you obliged me with the recipe 😛

    And, actually, I didn’t waste it…. but I was tempted to, and then un-tempted when I considered it fully!

     
  7. MJ

    Friday, July 27, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    Oh, that’s ok then. (As if it mattered who made it). Next time, you’ll know just to eat it hot.

     
  8. rach

    Monday, July 30, 2007 at 8:27 am

    😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
