RSS

What *is* normality?

26 Jun

Well, I have a few strong contenders coming right up:

It could be chatting to the India-girl on the train. She’s over for a few weeks, and it is always joyous to see a friendly face for the first time in a while. Telling her, that yes, interviewing went well, and surprisedly counting the months since doing the interviews.

But surely, true normality must be mentally writing a blog post on the walk home from the train. There’s nothing to quite beat thinking of a lovely little turn of expression. Then spending a good 32 minutes trying to remember what it was once you get home.

Or is it the obligatory panic-attack at having my field of vision rudely interrupted by a dashing young spider? Maybe the thrill of excitement at having been able to control my shakes long enough to get the marble-jar over his head. (And, of course, simultaneously taking good care not to lose any of her marbles.) And then feeling powerfully jelly-like every time I go over to have a sneaky peek. Maybe if I was really ‘normal’ I might pluck up the courage to somehow remove the wee one from my sight instead of just imprisoning him.

But maybe, after all, normality is experienced through the joys of sticking an elbow in my ants latest meal. Somehow, I suspect they enjoy it more than I do!

Ach, its about time I returned from normality… It’s always a pleasant wee visit every once in a while, but I never like to overdo it too much!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on Tuesday, June 26, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “What *is* normality?

  1. cath

    Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    Not that I want to make a habit of commenting on your posts as soon as they’re published, but to answer the question, allow me to recommend the Kolmogorov-Smirnov test.

     
  2. Grant

    Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    You did that on purpose didn’t you? You set that up because you knew some cruel (i.e. not me 😉 ) person would be compelled to say…

    …wait for it…

    …here it comes…

    *prepares ears for the Q.I. klaxon*

    I thought you lost your marbles ages ago! 😉

     
  3. cath

    Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Oh, maaarbles. I get it.

    Ha.

     
  4. cath

    Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at 11:57 am

    Incidentally, can’t you rustle up a Comment Preview option from somewhere, o programming one? I’m bitterly regretting the absence of a “the” from my first comment above. Just the madness of struggling with R has made my proofreading skills collapse somewhat 🙂

     
  5. rach

    Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    “The Ha” didn’t really seem to make sense 😉 …

    *has edited for your satisfaction* Whatever the R-stuff is, it made me shiver just clicking on the link…!

    Comment Previews? Programmers aren’t *quite* invincible, but maybe I’ll look into it 😉 once I’ve got your CSS up-and-running… 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
