RSS

the new girl on the block

17 May

I suppose I could tell you I’ve moved…

Like, IRL-moved, not anything totally mind-boggling like moving my blog or anything (just in case anyone out there was getting worried ;-))

Technically, most of the ‘move’ happened last Friday, after an emotional key-collecting occasion. Just couldn’t get the work situation out my head, and how afraid I was – and am – about how much my friends and I will end up being split up from each other by the changes.

Work-wise, I’m more confident than ever that things are moving in the right direction. But even when things are 95% correct, there’s still the 5% of mistakes which have the potential to cause an awful lot of frustration to us down in the grass roots, if they just happen to be tunnelling under our desk-area. But, I’m keen that that isn’t going to happen πŸ˜€

But, I’m tangenting again… The flat is just fine πŸ™‚ for anyone who’s interested (and hasn’t seen it… yet!) I don’t mean its perfect. I’m sure I can – and will – spend countless hours “making it all good”. But I do mean I really have absolutely nothing at all I can actually complain about! It is a good size/ location/ layout/ temperature/ safe-feeling/ everything else that matters.

Current status is that I have a washing-machine delivery due tomorrow, which if everything goes to plan, means I could be completely moved this weekend πŸ™‚ a whole week earlier than I’ve been expecting!

Other than that, I’ve done the obligatory trip to Ikea. Didn’t buy the bonsai tree. Forgot to take my shopping list… just all the usual bland details πŸ˜‰

Of course, my friends have been amazing! Stuff was moved/ unpacked/ cleaned/ fixed/ locked up/ examined for dust, and all with a very kind intention. And then I was pizza-supplied, and got to sit on plastic chairs, and had to offer less than my desired level of hospitality to willing volunteers. It was all quite lovely!

I wonder if I’d just closed my eyes and sat very still and quiet if one day I’d have gone to sleep in the old flat, and woken up in the new flat πŸ˜› Ok, it wasn’t *quite* that surreal, but I think everyone tried their very best to get as close to that magical scenario as they could, without actually being magic!

So, thankyou so much everyone! You all know who you are!

(At least I hope you do πŸ˜‰ ) *plans emergency identity-crisis mentoring*

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Thursday, May 17, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “the new girl on the block

  1. quact

    Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Your gettin a new washin machine? I may have to pop across once a month or so πŸ˜‰

     
  2. Grant

    Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:23 am

    I don’t know who I am πŸ˜‰ but that’s a whole other discussion…

     
  3. Grant

    Wednesday, June 20, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Glad to hear your flat is OK temperature-wise. But, should things get a bit cold take heed of this tale… Two Eskimos sitting in a kayak were chilly, so they lit a fire in it. Unsurprisingly it sank, proving once again that you can’t have your kayak and heat it too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
