RSS

So, just a normal day in the office…

03 May

…or just maybe not!

It was strangely mundane to return to the real world late this afternoon. I was sitting in the office of my IFA as he photocopied some more documents for my mortgage application. And, that actually calmed me down a bit. It was just so life-goes-on-ish to be watching the trees outside silhouetted against a prettily-perfect blue sky, and being able to smile at my IFA as he told me how everything was pretty much done and dusted for me to have got all my currently-unearned money suitably spent.

But, to get back to un-reality…

Sometime between getting off the train this morning and reaching my desk, I managed to walk through a rip in the space-time continuum without even noticing. Ok, maybe I wouldn’t have minded as much if I’d actually been aware of it, but I was a little gutted that I could go through so excitingly controversial an experience and not actually notice!

Ok, seriously now, all that was code for “pretty weird day” but then, I guess that goes without saying!

Thankfully, I am unlikely to be as deeply affected by the “changes at work” as some people. I guess if I was thinking totally of number one first, I could allow myself the “don’t take risks” aspects of choosing to neatly side-step the latest set of challenges presented to us.

But somehow that doesn’t really appeal to me…

I want to continue to work for one of the best companies in the world. I want to learn to understand the challenges faced by a multi-national company in todays fast-moving economy. I want to get on my train every morning, and have a wee chat with the work-crowd, irrespective of their “level” in the company.

I want to be able to trust my management team.

But it also works both ways, I suppose. Management *have* been making lots of changes recently. They have been saying they want to know what we think, and now (as someone commented with reference to our governmental elections, also taking place today) this is “the ultimate poll” for our management team.

Will we have the initiative to get behind them this time round?

There comes a time when we have to say, “Actually, yes, you are pushing at that flywheel… we can see it moving – however slowly and imperceptibly at first – but moving nonetheless.” We can’t continue to say nothing is happening when it is – ‘cos then we’re lying. And if we refuse to recognise the truth, then it becomes only right and proper that people shouldn’t trust *us*.

Ok, yes, we’re scared of getting bitten (again!) but we can’t let that fear numb us into a self-fullfilling prophecy where our very negativity becomes the direct cause of our downfall. Much as we might all want a soft cushion to lay our heads down on when the strain is a bit heavy, being in one of the top companies in the entire world is never going to be the “cushy pillow” option.

I think the time has come.

I’m not going to be jumping ship…

*rolls up her sleeves, and gets ready to start pumping water with renewed vigour*

*gives disapproving glances over her shoulder to anyone not following her example 😛 * (Hehe, sorry folks, I couldn’t resist!)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Thursday, May 3, 2007 in philosophy

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “So, just a normal day in the office…

  1. Grant

    Thursday, May 3, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    *rolls up his sleeves, and gets ready to start pumping water with renewed vigour*

    *decides to slit wrists instead*

     
  2. Grant

    Thursday, May 3, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    I admire your optimism and will attempt to follow your example (along with a newly buffed and polished CV for the backup plan, just in case). However, those of us cynical old-timers who have been through four or five previous rounds of redundancies and the gradual erosion of our division will find it more difficult to place much trust in the higher management, I think. Today has a distinct “final nail in coffin” feel to it, but let’s wait and see once the emotions have settled down a bit…

     

Leave a Reply

 
