RSS

being NICE

03 May

Ok, before I’d finished typing up the last post, I’d already decided I needed a follow-up that was more geared towards you, my dear reader. And then I decided I should quit being selfish, and actually put you first ๐Ÿ™‚ So, posting for you first, and then this next post is an exceedingly personal opinion about my work at the moment. I know I said earlier that I was wary about posting work-stuff up here for all to see, but I thought I wasn’t spreading out anything confidential, so I’ve plunged in anyway…

However, even while writing, I was thinking how a lot of the stuff that applies to me may not neccessarily apply to those in different situations from me. And I was worried in case any of it would come across as overly harsh, when if I’m going to be harsh on anyone, there’s a little girl I know very well who could do with some motivation!

So… this whole thing of taking risks, and how much of a risk is reasonable. Well, obviously having dependents would make one want to be more responsible. Then there’s how healthy you are financially. And every other factor both emotionally, physically, mentally, socially, environmentally, politically… yes, I’m getting carried away a bit here!

Anyway, what I’m trying to say, is that there is quite a lot asked of you when you work for a company worth working for.

I’m not saying don’t make the commitment. I am saying, know what commitment you are making, and be prepared to deal with the cost.

There’s nothing wrong with having a contingency plan set up and ready to roll – I’m thinking this seems quite a viable and sensible option just in general – never mind where you work, or how safe your job – but maybe that’s just me!

I’ve met tons and tons of people in my life who try and spend their whole lives avoiding a good bit of hard labour. Ok, I quite like a good relax myself every now and again, but I see nothing wrong with choosing to spend a bit of effort doing something that may have no tangible value more than – for example – improving my peace of mind.

But to many people I’ve met, the thought of doing a little extra work “for yourself” seems ludicrous. Yet I would gladly sacrifice a little of my own time to myself ๐Ÿ˜‰ if, by so doing I could give myself something emotionally meaningful: the peace-of-mind that the mortgage was still getting paid even if I lost my job tomorrow. I’d think that would be an amazing position to be in!

So, my advice – if anyone really cares what a little girl thinks! – is have a backup plan, and *then* motivate yourself to think you’re never going to need your backup plan ๐Ÿ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Thursday, May 3, 2007 in philosophy

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
