RSS

being bionic

02 May

We’d been off for a jaunt up Blackford hill on this oh-so-inviting of glorious spring evenings. Unsurprisingly, the exercise had given us a relish for some nibblers, so on the way back home we called in at the wee tesco up Morningside way.

I found the brown parcel tape I’d been looking for (a flitting tool) and so slung it round my wrist, leaving both hands free for a tube of pringles each. All three rolls-worth of tape were decorating my arm when I reached the checkout. Then I proceeded to have a conversation with the checkout girl without even registering I was talking to her.

I don’t even remember what we said first, but I suddenly began to take more notice as it got a little surreal even for me:

checkout girl:: “I was wondering what that was round your arm. I didn’t really want to stare… but I thought it was a bionic arm or something.”

me:: “No, I’m not quite *that* weird.

Yes, that really was the first response to pop into my head. And no sooner thought, than I realised it was already out my mouth too. Dearest Kathy was terribly supportive of my emotional ordeal, standing there laughing at me yabbering on to this total stranger for all the world as if she was a childhood buddy.

*Decides maybe she needs some kind of training course: “Being normal… for dummies.” or something should do fine 🙂 *

 
2 Comments

Posted by on Wednesday, May 2, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

2 responses to “being bionic

  1. Grant

    Wednesday, May 2, 2007 at 12:03 am

    “We can rebuild her. We have the technology. We can make her better than she was. Better…stronger…faster.”

    😀

     
  2. Meat-vision Zebra

    Wednesday, May 2, 2007 at 8:43 am

    With my bionic attachments, I can now use my powers to Meat the world’s food shortage needs…

     

Leave a Reply

 
