RSS

my DOB is in my subconscious

20 Apr

I think I have been brainwashed into remembering my DOB.

Well, I discovered just by accident just how easily I can let slip such personal information while coding up something at work. I needed to test a part of my code by filling in dates, to see if I was handling those dates correctly.

As a sanity check I just filled in some defaults and ran the test. Unsurprisingly, the 0/0/0000 stubs didn’t exactly get through the “is sensible date” screening, and almost by habit, my cursor again hovered over the numbers and changed them. I wasn’t even watching what I was doing… just typing, tabbing between windows, and running.

It ran successfully.

Sanity test over, I thought I’d go back, and check if the “random numbers” I’d filled in could be changed to a ‘real’ date, hopefully expanding to use a set of dates to test certain boundary conditions.

Imagine my surprise when there staring back at me was a living, smiling, little DOB… and not just any DOB, but mine.

I actually got a fright! It’s not that I wouldn’t – or haven’t ever – used my own DOB as a test case in similar situations before… but it was the complete and utter disconnectedness with my thought-processes that got to me.

In fact, this experience does indeed convince me that brainwashing does work. If by repeating that one number so many times in my life, it can be made to feel “a part of me” so much so that I can reveal it unawares, then how scary would real brainwashing actually be?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on Friday, April 20, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “my DOB is in my subconscious

  1. Grant

    Friday, April 20, 2007 at 8:51 am

    So if I continually mutter “B6, B6” to you throughout the day will you feel an uncontrollable urge to buy me a Kit Kat Chunky when you pass the vending machine? 😉

     
  2. Grant

    Friday, April 20, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    How disappointing. After a barrage of B6es you’ve now left work and I’ve only got my borborygmi for company 😦

     
  3. rach

    Friday, April 20, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Hehe…

    I was being good and not-checking my blog at work, and it seems to have had a positive effect on my bank balance.

    Which is always a good thing, given the current flat-buying craze. Not that saving on a kit-kat is *quite* likely to make up for buying a flat, but its a start!

    😛

    *deletes her “pod_window | grep -vE “[b|B]6″ | pod_window” script*

     
  4. HelloWorld

    Wednesday, May 2, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Peace people

    We love you

     

Leave a Reply

 
