RSS

Brain stimulation…

18 Apr

…or timewasting?

Ever since I heard that Nintendo had sold their Sudoku package as “Brain Games”, I have been mulling over the theory I’ve had for a while, that ‘logical puzzles’ do have a place in the chaos of concentration.

While a student, I often deliberately turned to brain-stimulating games as a form of relaxation. I used to find this behaviour rather illogical, as it isn’t exactly the most restful form of relaxation, of the “Stop staring at that screen!” variety. Don’t get me wrong… there’s a whole lot to be said for having a “real life”. But there’s something just so mesmorizingly relaxing about such games.

In a way, it actually lets me mull over things in a more focused manner. While allowing my mind to roam free in whatever creative channels it may choose at the time, the concentration required for the puzzles keeps my mind at a “regular ticking speed”.

In fact, if you’re wondering what on earth I’m talking about, you could try my current (and long-term) favourite here.

The ‘game’ itself is really not that much more interesting than doing cross-stitch. Well, you get some paint-by-numbers picture at the end, and the satisfaction that you’ve completed yet another puzzle, but really it’s all rather dull. Despite my addiction, I can be quite rational in resisting the temptation, and during the 6-or-so years that I’ve enjoyed these puzzles, I have taken a fair handful of 5-month ‘breaks’ from it after getting rather sick of it. I suppose it is still better than Sudoku tho…

*goes off to do something boring because she’s had enough brain-stuff for one night*

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Wednesday, April 18, 2007 in philosophy

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Brain stimulation…

  1. cath

    Friday, April 20, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    I am somewhat relieved to see you have filed this under “geeky”.

    πŸ™„

    πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

     
  2. rach

    Saturday, April 21, 2007 at 8:54 am

    πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
