RSS

Getting a flat.

07 Apr

Ok, so I’ve got a highest bid. Survey’s come back with nothing of concern, and the valuation is pretty much bang on what I’m paying for the place (4K out, to be precise).

So yeah, sounds good enough for me!

I suppose I won’t feel truely ‘done’ until I’m holding an assortment of jangling metal in my hands, but I’m gathering that for the moment, things are about finalised as far as I’m concerned. Apparently the lawyers get a chance to have a chat, and such-like things, but all I need to do is a few casual phonecalls to the bank to spend all my money for the next 25 years. Nothing too major 😉

So onto this afore-unblogged area of my life… (You’d think something this big would have been big enough to have featured prominently around here, but for a number of reasons I haven’t got round to mentioning it before.)

But I should go back to the beginning.

If I were to let popular opinion dictate where ‘the beginning’ was, I’d actually have a fairly short-and-sweet story to tell. But then I might be in danger of losing my reputation for ridiculously long posts… and that would just not do!

It actually narked on me a bit when various people said after I’d first viewed places “Oh, its good you’ve got started now”. I felt like screaming, “Hey, I’ve been doing my homework for months now!” “I know the difference between a variable rate and a fixed rate.” “I’ve figured out the T&C’s I want my mortgage to have.” “I know how I want to pay it back….” And I could rant on…

Looking back on it, the hardest part for me has been those preliminary brain-numbing stages learning all about the different kinds of mortgages . Eventually contacting a lawyer and financial advisor I trusted was a big step for me too, especially when my first impressions of the original advisor I was going to use were rather non-comforting.

Anyways, that’s enough of the depressing bit… onto more exciting “beginnings”.

It has been barely two weeks – two weeks yesterday in fact – since I first put my foot on the ground of my new postcode-area.

If I’d allowed it to, seeing places could have been stressful too…. But it’s much more of a touchy-feely kind of procedure. Things like your instinctive impressions – comfortable-ness level, safety, that ‘at home’ fuzzy feeling, are kinda primary factors.

And I’m fine with that. It’s not like you have to make a decision about how you feel. You get the first impressions you get, and if they’re not good, then it’s hardly worth your life savings. If they’re good, then everythings rosy. If they’re non-existent, then it probably means you’re actually still asleep.

So, all in all, it sorta seemed easy enough to decide this part. It’s not like you need to wade through jargon to be able to figure out if you like the colour of the walls.

To finally get to the point though, the place I’ve got is pretty cool.

  1. Kitchen has had a new cooker last November.
  2. Fridge and freezer being left for me.
  3. Bathroom has just been done up for selling.
  4. Plenty of storage space in the kitchen to give me room to expand my gadget-collection.
  5. Lounge is lovely – not completely square so has a little character, yet square enough to make it a very ‘roomy’ kind of room.
  6. Bedroom is spacious. Probably the biggest bedroom I’ll have ever had, tho’ maybe my Gla one would challenge that statement.
  7. Station is 23 mins walk away.  Well, 29 if you include map-checking time, but I’m hoping that checking a map will not actually have to be a part of my daily routine.

I have no reason not to be content.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on Saturday, April 7, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Getting a flat.

  1. Grant

    Monday, April 9, 2007 at 12:03 am

    I’m *so* pleased that you’ve got a place that you’re happy with. Welcome to the neighbourhood!

    As (probably) the chief “It’s good you’ve got started now” offender I can only apologise. Actually, I think my phrase was “At least the wheels are in motion” 🙂

    G

     
  2. justmerach

    Monday, April 9, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    I don’t think you were quite the worst or only culprit! At least, you definitely didn’t annoy me as much as some other people did.

    Partly it was just the cumulative effect of so many different people “expressing that opinion”. If it was just one or two, I’d have argued my case and moved on, but when more and more people made statements to that effect, eventually it got a bit frustrating 😉

    Maybe you got off lightly in my estimation because you were one of the first!

    And thanks for making me feel welcome 😀

    Ps: Just to be decent, I sorted out your timestamp 🙂

     
  3. Angela

    Monday, April 9, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    I was probably adding to that cumulative effect – sorry! Just wait till you get married 😉 then you’ll get a whole raft of other advice and even more stories, people just can’t help themselves (me included :-))

     
  4. justmerach

    Monday, April 9, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    Hey, don’t worry about it!

    *dreads getting married now* 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
