RSS

my music

31 Mar

Far too often I haver on about how I’m not in the slightest musical, so when the Desert Island Disc theme came up at work, I felt fully justified in side-stepping the question neatly, and saying that wasn’t “me” so it wouldn’t be me-ish to try….

But then I heard how difficult people were finding it to decide on their Top Ten, and I decided I fancied the challenge anyway. Surely, I thought, out of the CD’s I have, and the 22-years of possessing ears, I’d be able to come up with something that vaguely resembled tunefulness.

So, here’s my jumble of things I’d grab an mp3 for:

Firstly, a couple of religious-related references that are nevertheless noteworthy for their musical aspect:

  • Amazing Grace – It does annoy me slightly that there are many different versions of the words, and I’d like to say I’d go with the ‘original’ wording as written by John Newton himself, but I must confess to not-quite-knowing what is the original wording. If memory serves me right, JN actually had published two different versions at least (one with extra verses, or something) and now no-one seems quite sure… But all that aside, I love it.

To digress again, there’s a film coming out soon all about the life of William Wilberforce, the man who dedicated his whole life to getting slavery abolished. ‘Twill be interesting, though I’ve got the suspicion that historical inaccuracies would grate on me.

  • Jehovah Tsidkenu – A hymn by Robert Murray McCheyne, and as sung by my best friends. They sing it just so marvelously beautiful. I once tried to encourage them to record themselves and let me have a copy, but they all felt a little too self-conscious to be persuaded. *working on this one*

Now a bit of a change of tone as I move on to the Sound of Music:

  • Edelweiss – Stunningly evocative of innocent happiness.
  • Lonely Goatherd – You just can’t not-laugh at it, and as I was hearing, laughter makes you live longer, so that sounds good to me! The yodeling just makes it that bit quirkily different.

Next I just have to give a plug to one of my uni friends:

  • Dreamworld – I keep not really fully agreeing with all the lyrics, but that doesn’t seem to stop me listening to it… over and over… You can even listen here. (Wow, have I just acknowledged that I have readers!?) *

How many’s that now? Ah, I’m only half way!

Classical next:

  • Fur Elise – not much to say other than that I love it. In spite of spending nearly a year trying to teach myself to play bits of it (i.e. the right-handed bits!) I still didn’t even make myself sick of it. Well, I’m sick of my ridiculous attempts, but when it is actually played properly, it is amazing.
  • Voi Che Sapete” (Tell me what love is) by Mozart – To be truthful, pretty much anything Mozart would do here. His style gets an all-round big thumbs-up. Anyway, after much deliberations, and excuses for re-listening, I’ve finally settled on this one. (For anyone cynical, Pride and Preujudice connotations weren’t *entirely* the only influencing factor!)
  • Adiemus by Karl Jenkins – This one isn’t ‘strict’ classical, but I first heard it on ClassicFM, so that makes it classical in my book! So, about the music… entirely enchanting. Logically, my complete and utter fascination with this piece can probably be explained by the mixture of Classical and African influences that went into it: you could hardly get better than that!

Ok, a tiny nod in the direction of ‘normal music’:

  • Love me tender” – Ever since learning it in school, I’ve thought it was kinda cute, and do have to chuck surreptitious glances over my shoulder occasionally, just to make sure no-one else is listening into my rubbishly-hummed version.

And finally, I’m a hielan’ lass after all, so I couldn’t miss this one:

  • Scottish Soldier – This reminds me of school prizegivings. Ok, you’re probably more likely to catch me walking down the road singing “Auld Lang Syne” than “A Scottish Soldier”, but I’m really not a Burns fan at all, and would have issues with nodding in his direction. But back to “a Scottish Soldier”, there’s just something so wholesome-feeling about visualising yourself at 2 degrees below freezing wrapped up like an eskimo in the pitch November black while listening to Mr Baillie announce over the tannoy that the next flurry of fireworks will be accompanied by “A Scottish Soldier”. ( Bonfire night used to be so much more fun back home – actually had a real bonfire to roast our hands against, and real darkness too.)

So yeah, I am now left to wonder what I am revealing about myself by displaying such a bizarre musical selection.

*Update: Thanks to nex for specially getting the correct Dreamworld link. (Perfectly legal, tho’ if you do want to show your support, have a look at what nex says.) Also, after first hearing “Out in the Air”, I’m beginning to appreciate what Angela says about new things coming in and potentially knocking old favourites off their pedestal.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on Saturday, March 31, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

8 responses to “my music

  1. Nexami Engeo

    Saturday, March 31, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Aww, you’re sweet to include us. Thanks pal.

    ~ Dude what wrote “Dreamworld” 😉

     
  2. Grant

    Saturday, March 31, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Well done Rachel – I’ve only managed to settle on one definite track so far. “Normal music” – that made me laugh 🙂

     
  3. Anonymous

    Sunday, April 1, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Also, many thanks for the compliments!

    ~ Dude what wrote “Out In The Air” 😀

     
  4. justmerach

    Monday, April 2, 2007 at 6:56 am

    You’re welcome, nex, and nex’s anonymous friend 🙂

     
  5. Z (maybe M?)

    Monday, April 2, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    have fun on that holiday lark 🙂

     
  6. justmerach

    Monday, April 2, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Hey, ta muchly, Zed!

    Is that almost a concession to not being anonymous 😛

     
  7. Nexami Engeo

    Tuesday, April 10, 2007 at 8:28 am

    That was the engeo lead guitarist btw 🙂

     
  8. rach

    Wednesday, September 26, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Jo Mango seems to be doing alright for herself!

    I just found fluffy brain on last.fm 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
