RSS

How personal *is* a blog?

31 Mar

Recently there has been a bit of chat regarding how far you should allow other people to influence your blog.

Despite my firm belief that it is quite a personal little corner of the web, I have begun to question the implicit assumption that it would be a cardinal blogging sin to allow any outside influences to even so much as breathe within a walking-radius of my blog.

It is certainly very flattering to be told “You can’t change the way you blog – its too good!” However, I’m not sure I agree with the premise that I must remain “an island” to maintain the style of blogging I have developed.

Tho’ I chose to start blogging originally in a rather non-community-friendly way – not telling anyone, not allowing comments – that is not to say I don’t appreciate feedback, and even constructive criticism. It really had more to do with me being shy, than with me trying to look down my nose at the rest of the world.

In a way, I’m glad I’ve approached the blogging issue in ‘stages’. It has given me a chance to develop my own blogging style totally seperate from the impressions of either real-life or online friends.

And now that I’ve moved on to the next stage, I’m finding it interesting to see how I can maintain a comfortable me-ish style while incorporating the ideas and impressions of “my community” in a nicely social networking fashion.

So, now I am in the fairly ( 😉 ) unique position of being able to see the difference that being part of a “blogging community” does have on the direction of my blog.

Now it is with these thoughts in mind I go to pick my Desert Island Discs.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Saturday, March 31, 2007 in philosophy

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “How personal *is* a blog?

  1. Grant

    Sunday, April 1, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Yes, the fact that you are the only one of us (in the office, anyway) whose blog has a lengthy history and an already defined style will make it fairly easy to see how it evolves 😀 now that you’ve shared it with us newcomers. Yours is very personal and introspective whereas mine (probably because it was out in the open from day one) is, I suppose, being written with an audience already in mind. I don’t think I’ve written much about the “real” me yet but hopefully when I feel the need to do that I’ll not be put off by the fact that I know I’ll have folk reading it. When I was thinking about starting a blog I imagined that it would be a kind of personal diary but it hasn’t really started out like that. I suppose I’ll be conducting your experiment in reverse – can I shrug off the outside influences and write something just for me?

     
  2. justmerach

    Monday, April 2, 2007 at 6:58 am

    😀 an interesting challenge!

     

Leave a Reply

 
