RSS

Graduation

06 Jan

Suffice to say, it was pretty much one of the happiest days of my life.

In part, it was because I didn’t expect it to go too well – just like all “big important fancy days” that seem to end up being an anti-climax, I thought if I set too much store on it I’d just end up being disappointed.

So, to try and avoid that, I wanted to keep it all as low-key as possible. Top priority was seeing all my friends – some for the last time, possibly – making sure I got to talk to all the folks I wanted to talk to, and all that. And so, when things all came together, I was just plain over-the-moon chuffed. Like for the meal afterwards, rather than have a select special set of people at some expensive posh restaurant, I immensely enjoyed just all the extended family relations being free and relaxed to come to the buffet at my Aunt’s.

A great big thanks has to go to everyone who cares about me for all doing their bit to make my day. I appreciated everyone coming, and especially the work and effort of Aunty Joan in getting the whole buffet organised – and managed exceptionally well to her own high standards.

My Dad in particular, I appreciated that he didn’t take his video camera. He always becomes so fixated with recording everything, that he forgets to enjoy it in the moment, and so the moment is lost (for us too, as well as for him) so it was really special actually to just have my Dad there with me, chatting to me and my friends, and actually being really there. It seems such a little – and probably a trifle silly – thing, but funnily enough, I felt afterwards it was the one thing that meant the most to me. So, thankyou Dad -x- 🙂

Anways, I’ve been meaning to make this post for ages, and just never been in the mood or had the time, so it seems a little late. I think I’ve said the things that I wanted to say – the things that actually mattered to me, as opposed to the ‘expected party line’. It was all my friends (including my family) who guided me through those years, and so I think it was fitting that it was them I wanted to spend my day with.

This may be an appropriate note on which to close. My dk_in_c livejournal has been a lovely homely little journal for my university years, but I’ve been thinking for a while that I would really like a WordPress blog. And just now I am in the process of signing up.

So, adieu, and all the best to everyone 🙂

Love you all!

Rachel

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Saturday, January 6, 2007 in selfish

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
