RSS

A Mother’s love

30 Mar

She is in agony, in agony.
She is my own flesh and blood, for my life.
Now she sits, her face contorted from pain
Stranger to me, as she were a statue.
She would go to bed, before the night becomes
too long. I help her to stand up and
proceed down the corridor together;
not, I sigh, without some difficulty.
Helping her undress, she is patient
– as always – and meeker the worse she felt.
How I longed to do… anything for her!
Then, before she went to quietly sleep
I kiss the tender cheek, mutt’ring “Night, Mum.”
and slip back into the child I had been.


Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License

 
3 Comments

Posted by on Tuesday, March 30, 2004 in poetry

 

3 responses to “A Mother’s love

  1. Grant

    Saturday, September 1, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    Wow, that is really, really good 🙂 Rather emotional…

     
  2. rach

    Saturday, September 1, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Aw, thankyou 😳

    😀

     
  3. Melon Zest

    Monday, September 3, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Truly, makes your heart bleed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
